Gallery

Whose fingers are on the nuclear button?

You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all the people some of the time, which is just long enough to be president of the United States.” – Spike Milligan

Trump had his finger on the nuclear button or did he? Goodbye Dr Strangelove enter sleepy Joe Biden, the oldest man to have his finger on the button. The insurrection at the US Capitol building last week is good reason for no American President to have such power. Here is a salutary reminder from Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom.

Just a reminder that the new UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons comes into force on 22 January. The treaty was due to efforts led by the Melbourne-based ICAN (International Campaign for the Abolition of Nuclear Weapons). There will be many events to celebrate this important milestone, including a one hour Zoom event organised by some of us in Brisbane.  The registration details are below. Share with anyone you think might be interested.

WILPF (the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom) Australia invites you to join online with WILPF, ICAN and many others to

Celebrate a Nuclear Weapons Free Future

22 January 2021

9 am AEST Brisbane / 10 am AEDT Sydney

for this Free Webinar 

featuring some of Australia’s leading anti-nuclear voices

 On 22 January 2021, the UN Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) will become binding law for all. This occasion will be celebrated especially loudly here in Australia where the Nobel Peace Prize-winning organisation ICAN was founded and took roots. WILPF and many other organisations and individuals have contributed to these efforts.

Let’s consider what we’ve all achieved together—and gather momentum for the next steps.

Webinar speakers include:

  • Chair Claire Moore (UNAA Qld President and Former Senator)
  • Ray Acheson (WILPF’s international Reaching Critical Will program)
  • Aunty Sue Coleman-Haseldine (Kokatha elder, activist and nuclear test survivor)
  • Dimity Hawkins (ICAN co-founder)
  • Bishop Philip Huggin (President, National Council of Churches of Australia)

Details:

Online one-hour Webinar (via zoom)

7 am AWST Perth / 8.30 am ACST Darwin / 9 am AEST Brisbane / 9.30 am ACDT Adelaide / 10 am AEDT Sydney.

Registration is free. Everyone is welcome.

Book at: https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/wilpf-australia-webinar-to-celebrate-a-nuclear-weapon-free-future-tickets-134353794817

Please keep comments brief (moderated for spam only)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.